Fast Facts About Workers’ Compensation in Philadelphia
September 21, 2015
If you sustain an injury during the course of doing your job the first and most important thing to do is to report it to your supervisor after you obtain first aid to clean up and stabilize the injury. While that seems like a pretty obvious thing to do, many people fail to report the incident and their injury out of fear of losing their job, or putting a coworker’s job in jeopardy. However, if you fail to report the incident and then later you require medical treatment for the injury, your employer can deny your claim. Even if you think that the injury is not a big deal you must report the accident to your employer.
If there were witnesses to the incident or accident, make sure that you get statements from them that back up your report and give their perspective on what occurred. Regardless of the severity of your injury, you must report it right away in order to preserve your right to compensation for medical care and lost time at work.
Important information about the laws
Workers’ compensation laws are generally the same throughout the United States, though there are minor differences from state to state with regard to deadlines for filing and the amount of compensation a worker might receive. In Pennsylvania, employees must report a workplace accident and any injuries associated with it within 21 days. But if they do not report it within 120 days from the date of the injury, or of having knowledge of an occupational disease, no compensation will be allowed. There is an exception for cases that involve progressive diseases.
Your employer is required by law to provide workers’ compensation for all of their employees. You are fully within your legal rights to file a claim for compensation when your injury requires you to lose time from work recovering, and medical attention.
When your doctor releases you to return to work you should be able to return to your job. It is illegal for your employer to discriminate against you because you have been injured and took time off to recuperate. Your employer may not fire you for claiming workers’ compensation. If you are fired and can provide evidence that you were fired in retaliation for having filed a claim, you may be able to take legal action against your employer.
Options if your claim is denied
If you do not agree with a decision made by your employer, their insurance company or the workers’ compensation court you can file an appeal. Throughout all of this process, you can work with one of the Philadelphia workers’ compensation attorneys here at Larry Pitt & Associates who will represent your interests and protect your rights.
Have you been injured on the job? The experienced Philadelphia workers’ compensation attorneys at Larry Pitt & Associates can help. We help families throughout Berks, Bucks, Chester, Delaware, Montgomery and Philadelphia Counties, and we want to help you, too. Contact our Philadelphia law firm today to learn more.