42+ Years of Serving Injured Workers in Pennsylvania
For Injured Workers
Notification of Injury
Report Injuries Promptly to Your Employer
Most workers in Pennsylvania are covered by the Pennsylvania Workers’ Compensation Act (the Act), which provides them with compensation for medical expenses and lost wages in the event they are injured at work or develop an occupational illness.
However, if you are injured at work, you must satisfy the requirements outlined in the Act. One of the most important requirements is that you must notify your supervisor or manager of your injury within 120 days, to remain eligible for workers’ compensation benefits.
GET A FREE CONSULTATION WITH LARRY PITT
Philadelphia Work Injury Lawyers at Larry Pitt & Associates, P.C. Help Injured Workers Navigate the Pennsylvania Workers’ Compensation System
When you are injured in a workplace accident, it is important to seek the counsel of a qualified work injury lawyer who can explain all your duties, rights and obligations under Pennsylvania workers’ compensation law and guide you through the complicated system. The Philadelphia work injury lawyers at Larry Pitt & Associates, P.C. have over 40 years of experience representing injured workers. Larry Pitt & Associates helps throughout:
Notification and Reporting Requirements
Although it is technically sufficient to give your employer oral notice, it is advisable to give written notice, so that you have evidence of your compliance with the 120-day notification rule. There are certain exceptions to the rule, such as when a worker suffers hearing loss, repetitive motion injuries, or contracts a progressive disease. In those cases, the injury or illness takes time to become apparent (perhaps longer than 120 days.) Therefore, they may warrant an exception to the 120-day notification rule. The work injury lawyers at Larry Pitt & Associates, P.C. can help to ensure that the notice you give complies with all requirements and meets the appropriate deadline.
Upon learning of your injury or illness, you should report your injury or illness to your employer as soon as possible. In your notice, you should include details such as the date of your injury, where and how the accident occurred, who was involved, and whether there were any witnesses. Your employer is then required to report your injuries to its insurer. From there, a First Report of Injury must be electronically filed with the Bureau of Workers’ Compensation within three days if the injury resulted in death, or within seven days if the injury caused you to miss more than a day, shift, or turn of work.
Payment or Denial
Within 21 days of receiving notification, employers may provide you with temporary compensation while they extend the investigation to 90 days. They may then decide to either accept or deny liability for your injury. If your employer accepts liability for your injury, you will receive compensation for medical expenses associated with your injury and wage compensation based on your average weekly pre-injury wages.
If you employer denies liability, you will receive a Notice of Workers’ Compensation denial. You may choose to appeal the denial by filing a Claim Petition within three years from the date of your injury. Your appeal will be decided by a workers’ compensation judge if it cannot be settled by mediation.
In the event of denial, there are more options for appeal. It is prudent to seek the counsel of a qualified attorney who can guide you through the process. At Larry Pitt & Associates, P.C., we are experienced in handling workers’ compensation claims and appeals. We can help ensure that your claim or appeal contains all necessary documents and information to maximize your chances for receiving benefits.