How Long Do I Have to File a Workers’ Compensation Claim?
September 10, 2013
While companies can be fined for violating safety protocol and regulations, injured employees can also file for compensation for lost wages and related expenses. However, there are specific time limitations for certain steps of the process, and failing to meet the deadlines can bar you from being able to receive workers’ compensation in Pennsylvania.
Things to know when filing a workers compensation claim:
- Pennsylvania law states that you have three years from the date of your injury to file a claim for workers’ compensation.
- If a family member suffered an untimely workplace death, you also have three years to file a claim, but the death must have occurred within 300 weeks after the injury.
- If you were injured on the job, you must let your employer know within 120 days after the injury. Failure to do so can result in a denial of your claim.
It’s always helpful to talk to an attorney about the specifics of your case before too much time is lost. Having an experienced workers’ compensation attorney throughout your claims process can help ease your stress, letting you focus on the task of recovering from your injury.